State Requirements At a Glance

The Chesapeake Bay region includes parts of six states – Delaware, Maryland, New York, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia – and the entire District of Columbia. The Clean Water Act requires each of these jurisdictions to regulate stormwater runoff and to implement programs to manage and control stormwater.

The Clean Water Act’s underlying framework is relatively simple in concept. The Act’s goal is to keep our waterbodies clean enough for fishing, swimming and other recreational uses.

The Clean Water Act’s National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permit program prohibits the discharge of pollutants by municipalities, industries, and others unless the discharge is authorized by a NPDES permit.

Medium to large-sized jurisdictions require NPDES Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) Phase I permits, while certain smaller jurisdictions require NPDES MS4 Phase II permits. Even still, pollution can be hard to regulate and waters can become too polluted. The Clean Water Act’s Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) program kicks in when a particular waterbody is identified as having so much of one or more pollutants in it that additional measures need to be taken to clean it up.

The MOST Center provides courses targeted towards teaching you what you need to know to build a stronger, more effective stormwater management program to meet your NPDES and TMDL obligations. However, who oversees stormwater management and how it’s implemented varies by state or jurisdiction. Click on the state names or the District of Columbia links below to determine who to contact to learn more.